Peter G. about AirVape XS|“ this vaporizer seems to make the best and healthiest use of unprocessed herb.”

• administrators

Peter G.

I'm relatively new to vaping, but I've used some of the cheap and mid-range pen-type units, one of which (from Phat Panda, $70) includes a conduction/convection oven similar to what's in the Airvape.
    That worked okay for what it is, but it has only a 3-level voltage control, which is far short of a precise temperature control.

So far, the Airvape XS has given a vastly better vaping experience, after some practice and experimenting.
    Overall, I think it's a great product, although it has a few weak points, and some room for improvement.

The XS is beautifully designed and built, and it looks like it should last a while.
    I like the simple controls, the LCD display, and the fine temperature increments.
    The vibrate signal works just right.
    Above all, this vaporizer seems to make the best and healthiest use of unprocessed herb.
    With some practice, anyone should be able to get strong, smooth, minimally irritating vapor.

I have a few suggestions for improvement:

• Maybe the biggest weakness is the mouthpiece assembly, which attaches too loosely, insecurely, to the vaper body.
      Given the engineering constraints of a small, flat device, this might not be easy to fix, but the mouthpiece is annoying.

• The metal vape-cooling heat exchanger works well, but it's not held very securely by the mouthpiece silicone, and its tiny parts are somewhat difficult to clean, and they would be easy to lose.

• Because the mouthpiece falls off immediately if you carry the XS in a pocket, the hard plastic case should be seen as a necessity rather than an option.
      The included "leather" case is quite worthless.
      Maybe a good solution would be to eliminate the soft case, and price the XS with hard case included, at $192 or $195.

• There's one accessory that XS users need to use frequently.